A sense of proportion

saxon-raiders

Recently I have become quite interested in English history. It seems the Romans who invaded Britain burned, raped, disemboweled, beheaded, castrated, blinded, tortured, enslaved and drowned the local inhabitants, plundered their valuables and brutally put down any resistance. Later they mixed with the natives, meaning the Roman soldiers took native English women as wives.

The same goes for the Vikings and the bands of Saxons who moved in after the Romans left Britain. They were just as brutal. Then came the Normans who stole whatever was worth stealing from the English towns, villages and churches they came across before burning the whole lot to the ground. William the Conqueror then divided up England and gave it to his Norman cronies to rule over. The people of England were thus under the thumb of foreigners who cared nothing for their customs or welfare. About 20% of English people died either during or directly after the Norman invasion, mainly as a result of starvation. All of that strikes me as cruel and my guess is that the history of most countries is equally as gory.

This being the case, I think open-borders fanatics who think it ‘inhumane’ that their fellow westerners want to keep their countries from being swamped by immigrants need a sense of proportion. Raping a woman in front of her husband, disemboweling him and then drowning the couple’s children before finally enslaving the woman. That’s inhumane. Turning people away who are illegally trying to enter a country is not cruel. It’s just what any sensible society that wished to preserve itself would do.

Perhaps if progressives went on fewer rallies and instead read a bit more history they would have a better perspective on what real inhumanity looks like.

This entry was posted in General.

3 comments on “A sense of proportion

  1. Remember me? We talked offline about Sparks.

    I agree. Most of us don’t take the time to investigate or study the complexities of cultural history. The atrocities of conquerors, like your example of Romans raping and pillaging the Britains, happened throughout Western Europe after WWII. The brutal occupation of the Allies in Europe is seldom discussed because the Allies (who conquered) also raped, pillaged, plundered, starved, imprisoned, and murdered millions. Clearly the Allies and West also have a history of brutality and atrocity. I agree that it is wise not assume we need to integrate nor castigate the “other” peoples, tribes or cultures.

    BTW: I commented on your recent blog post article and don’t see my comment nposted, nor replied to. (You have comments are to “moderated” before you allow them to show on your site, if at all). I’m curious if you got my message/comment and if you did you and did not reply or comment, makes me wonder why you rail against lefties who are in a “bubble”. Are not righties and all of us in bubbles to some degree or another? I believe the way out or to enlarge our ideological bubbles is to be aware we each are inside a bubble and it is through dialogue with others we see things differently and can converse intelligently that we learn and grow. Which is what I assume is part of the reason you have your website. Not just to be in an echo chamber.

    • Hi Scott. I agree that no nation, tribe or people has a lily-white history. If they did they probably wouldn’t be here now. Probably any tribes that were against all violence never made it this far. Even so, I think people sometimes have a desire to say ‘we’re all as bad as each other’, something I don’t believe is the case. I think there are differing degrees of awfulness. For example, though not all men are violent and some women commit murder I think it is still true to say that on average men are more violent than women. I also believe that the Allies often behaved better during World War Two than, say, the Japanese or the Russians. I’m sure you could find examples of barbarism on both sides and even find reasons why one side had more reason to act like dogs in the wild. Even so, in conflicts as in every other sphere I think it is extremely rare that praise and blame can be apportioned equally. One side is nearly always slightly better or worse than the other. It would be kind of weird if that weren’t the case, as though some Yin and Yang God were making sure everything was absolutely even. In short, I’m not a fan of moral equivalence and I don’t believe we are all equally good or equally bad. But you probably agree.

      I completely agree with you that intelligent discussion is the best way of escaping from the ideological bubbles we are all trapped in. Talking to people you agree with is easy. Talking civilly to those you think are crazy or immoral is hard. It is also dangerous for the ego. I sometimes find myself avoiding some lefty news outlets, mainly because my time on Earth is short and spending time reading annoying articles is precisely that: annoying. Yet another reason for avoiding them is perhaps the fear that they might just sow a seed of doubt in my mind that might, over time, cause the whole of my carefully constructed world view to unravel before my eyes. Even so, it has to be done.

      • I know what you mean about time is precious and why waste it on discussions that seem pointless if they seldom change minds. We never know when a random smile or kind act may make our day. Likewise a rudeness or indifference could be one more thing that doesn’t help at all. I don’t believe I fear sowing seeds of doubt of my worldview. I prefer to have my beliefs challenged, at least pushed to the edges so I can revise or outgrow them. I was stuck in a monastery and see that psychologically I escaped because I exposed myself gradually over time to different worldviews that challenged my assumptions about how the world is or ought to operate. Thanks

Leave a Reply

