Preparation without end

Image

When I was young I loved football (soccer). Football matches were the highlight of my week. I also quite enjoyed training in preparation for these matches. Apart from the team’s regular Wednesday night training sessions, I often went to the local park and kicked a ball around on my own. I would kick it with spin against a wall and see what angle it rebounded at. I would juggle the ball and try various tricks. Of course the only reason I enjoyed training was because of the promise of the next game. Had there been no game on the horizon then I wouldn’t have bothered training.

That is how I now feel about time spent alone. When I’m with others we do things or talk about books, sport, pop music, movies and politics and I enjoy myself. When I get home I have something to eat and then read or watch something related to what we have been discussing. I can do this quite happily for long periods but I notice these periods are now beginning to drag on me. If I spend a couple of days alone the desire to read, learn, watch, rehearse my arguments or do anything more than eating and sleeping deserts me. I then feel like I am trapped in a never-ending training session.

Actions, unless intrinsically enjoyable in themselves, need to have a purpose and people need the company of others to enable them to give all their training meaning. The balance between training and playing has to be right, and mine isn’t.

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a Reply

