Music to learn English by

daveclarkfive2rex_468x311

I decided to make a post linking to some old songs that I like that might also help students practise their English listening skills. Older songs are somehow easier to understand than newer ones. For most songs the lyrics are on-screen.

Summer Wine – Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazlewood

You Only Live Twice – Nancy Sinatra

Sugar Town – Nancy Sinatra

A Time for us – Andy Williams

Can’t get used to losing you – Andy Williams

Don’t it make my brown eyes blue – Crystal Gayle

Tammy – Debbie Reynolds

Let it be me – Dionne Warwick

Love’s been good to me – Frank Sinatra

Magic Moments – Perry Como

Move Over Darling – Doris Day

Solitaire – The Carpenters

Ain’t no sunshine – Bill Withers

Wonderful Life – Black

Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head – B.J. Thomas

I can’t help falling in love with you – Elvis Presley

She’s not you – Elvis Presley

Always on my mind – Elvis Presley

The girl of my best friend – Elvis Presley

You’ll never walk alone – Gerry and the Pacemakers (with lyrics)

Sunday – Hurts

At seventeen – Janis Ian

Not here, now now – Joe Jackson

Both sides now – Judy Collins

Somewhere only we know – Keane

Bend and break – Keane

This is the last time – Keane

Amoureuse – Kiki Dee

1-2-3 – Len Barry

Dream a little dream – The Mamas and the Papas

It’s getting better – The Mamas and the PapasCass Elliot

Monday Monday – The Mamas and the Papas

Dedicated to the one I love – The Mamas and the Papas

Reflections of my life – Marmalade

Born free – Matt Monro

From Russia with love – Matt Monro

Walk away – Matt Monro

Softly as I leave you – Matt Monro

Somewhere – Matt Monro

What am I doing hangin’ ’round – The Monkees

Nights in white satin – Moody Blues

Airport – The Motors

Girl, you’ll be a woman soon – Neil Diamond

Windmills of your mind – Dusty Springfield

I fall to pieces – Patsy Cline

Crazy – Patsy Cline

Walkin’ after midnight – Patsy Cline

I go to sleep – The Pretenders

Song for the lovers – Richard Ashcroft

Unchained Melody – The Righteous Brothers

Brown eyed girl – Van Morrison

We’re all alone – Rita Coolidge

Feel – Robbie Williams

It’s over – Roy Orbison

If I loved you – Richard Anthony

Flowers never bend with the rainfall – Simon & Garfunkel

Wednesday 3am – Simon & Garfunkel

I am a rock – Simon & Garfunkel

The sound of silence – Simon & Garfunkel

Hazy shade of winter – Simon & Garfunkel

Kathy’s song – Simon & Garfunkel

April, come she will – Simon and Garfunkel

A lover’s concerto – The Toys

Sleeping Satellite – Tasmin Archer

Baby can I hold you -Tracy Chapman

Driftwood – Travis

Why does it always rain on me – Travis

Illusive Butterfly – Bob Lind

That’s you – Nat King Cole

If I can’t have you – Yvonne Elliman

One-way ticket – Neil Sedaka

The end of the world – Nancy Sinatra

Rhythm of the rain – The Cascades

Angel of the morning – The Pretenders

Runaround Sue – Dion and the Belmonts

The Wanderer – Dion and the Belmonts

Woman in love – Barbra Streisand

Happy together – The Turtles

Elenore – The Turtles

She’d rather be with me – The Turtles

First of May – The Bee Gees

World – The Bee Gees

This entry was posted in Music.

2 comments on “Music to learn English by

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be helpful to read content from other authors and practice something from other websites.

  2. May I call you Workout? Thanks for the comment. Glad you like the post.

Leave a Reply

